Skip Menu Navigation

Dubai Culture and Arts Authority
FREE - On the App Store


Coins Museum

The Coins Museum is located in Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood near the Ruler's Diwan in Bur Dubai and has been converted into a Museum for Coins in 2004, consisting of two floors, and built of coral, stone, plaster, Sandalwood, leaves and trunks of palm trees and teakwood.

The museum visitors will have the chance to discover coins belonging to different historical eras. The museum is equipped with special display cabinets and magnifying screens for each coin as well as touch screens with electronic drop-down lists containing detailed information on each coin.


Coins Museum

470 pieces of rare coins dating back to different historical eras.

A visit to the Coins Museum represents a rare opportunity to see more than 470 pieces of rare coins dating back to different historical eras. It also increases knowledge of the coins that had been used in Dubai and the region, in addition to getting acquainted with the close link between the monetary system of the British Empire, India and the countries in the region before independence, and the formation of the federation.


in regards to its shape, size, metal, method and date of minting, words written on it, and the images and shapes it contains. The museum also includes eight main display rooms; the first room displays information about the history of coins, the second room displays 16 coins of Arab-Sasanian Dirhams that were used in the age of the Rashidun Caliphate and Umayyad Caliphate, the third room has 64 Dinars and Dirhams that were used in the Umayyad Caliphate, the fourth room displays 115 pieces of Dinars and Dirhams that were used in the Abbasid Caliphate, the fifth room includes 45 pieces of coins minted in Egypt, the Levant and Turkey.

the sixth room displays 91 pieces of coins minted in Iraq and the Islamic Orient region, the seventh room contains 22 pieces of coins minted in North Africa and Andalusia, and finally the eighth room contains 102 coins minted in the Arabian Peninsula and the United Arab Emirates.